Recipe Tuesday: Roasted Sausage and Veggies

I found this “recipe” on Pinterest that linked to HyVee. That was a little weird for me – that grocery store does not exist outside of the midwest, so to find it on Pinterest surprised me. Now, I use “recipe” in quotes, because it was really just an idea – there were no amounts of ingredients given and the cooking time was “place in oven until done.” Uh, okay….

Veggies - WEB

 

In this house, we love our vegetables. In the grocery store the other day, I handed Grace the bag of broccoli crowns – she was SO happy. She kept it in the seat next to her and was proud to show anyone that she could her “bawoli!” When I’m preparing veggies for dinner, I cannot give them to her fast enough. I am NOT complaining. So, that being said, I admit – I went a little overboard on the amount of vegetables I included in this.

Roasted Sausage and Veggies

2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

4 or 5 new potatoes

1 yellow or orange pepper (I used one of each)

1 red onion

1 yellow squash or zucchini (I used both)

1 lb polish or smoked sausage (I used Holmes because it is pre-cooked and we really like it)

salt

pepper

Pre-heat oven to 400°. Rough chop all vegetables into approximately 1 inch cubes. Slice sausage, on the diagonal, into 1/2 inch pieces. Place all ingredients in a large bowl. Drizzle with olive oil. Add salt and pepper to taste, or other seasoning of choice – I have also used Lawry’s Seasoning Salt and Morton’s Nature Seasoning. Toss to coat. Place all ingredients on large sheet of aluminum foil – seal to make a pouch. Place on cookie sheet and bake for 20-25 min.

Leave a Reply

