Pinterest Fails

When we decided that I would be a stay at home mom, I was excited because I would be able to cook dinner again – I really enjoy it. Brian was excited because he wouldn’t have to cook dinner – it was rough for him to try to rush home after picking up Grace, take care of her and the dogs and try to figure out dinner after working for 11 hours. I was also excited to be able to try new recipes that I had found throughout the year.

I believe that it is pretty clear that I like Pinterest. So far, it has been awesome for housecleaning and home organization tips – cleaning the dog hair out of our living room carpet, cleaning the hard water off our shower, and our inspiration for our family center – and ideas for Grace – finger painting in baggies and her wonderful new hooded towel. I also have accumulated several recipes on my boards. This week was the launch of the new menu planning. I was so excited. Now, after 4 Pinterest meals, I am much less excited. Monday was Spaghetti with Chicken and Sun-dried Tomatoes – it was eh. Tuesday was our standard tacos – inhaled by both of us. Wednesday was Shrimp Penne Pasta with Sun-dried Tomato Cream sauce – it was okay, but I don’t really feel the need to have it again. Thursday was Chicken and Orzo Stuffed Peppers (with Feta and Arugula) – again, it was good, but it was missing something. Tonight was Homemade Pizza, using a dough that was labeled as “the best pizza dough recipe ever.” It didn’t taste like anything. I count it as a fail. I am pretty discouraged. After all the home runs around the house, failing at cooking is not cool with me. I am still planning to try some others, but I am also looking several other places for inspiration, too.

Leave a Reply

