Rage Against the Dying of the Light

Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage! Rage against the dying of the light!
-Dylan Thomas

Last night at 12:32am I heard her. I checked the monitor and Little Girl was sitting up in her crib and deciding what her next move was. I thought, “I’ll go right up and hopefully she won’t even start crying.” After rocking, finishing her bottle, getting a new bottle, several tries of laying down, falling asleep with me in the rocker 4 times, and several bouts of screaming when I walked away, she finally stayed asleep at 2:50am. While I was quite frustrated most of the time, I also could not help by thinking about the Dylan Thomas poem. I’m guessing that our night was due to her upper teeth that are on the verge of erupting, but honestly, I have NO idea. It could have been one, or several, of hundreds of options. She did finally sleep and I went back to be shortly after 3:00am. I overslept-in until 8:30am. We left for daycare late, but it didn’t really matter. Only 15 more days of work and daycare.

Leave a Reply

